Are speakers better today than 15 years ago?

Username: Subiedriver

Post Number: 10
I am not an engineer, so I'm wondering -- what if any big changes or advances have been made in speakers over the past 15 years? Are today's entry level bookshelf speakers any better than entry level speakers from 15 years ago?

I have a pair of old entry-level KEF K-120 bookshelf speakers from the early 1990s. I'd kind of like to replace them just because they look so tired. But are any of today's speakers (in the $1,500 or under range) really going to sound enormously better or different than these old KEFs? Have there been huge advances made in speaker design? Seems like you've got a small box and 2 drivers, same as ever, so how much better/different can monitors be?

Looking at a sample of relatively low priced Brit speakers (B&W, Quad, Spendor, Epos, KEF) I wonder are they any better today than before?

Silver Member
Username: Virus5877

West Lafayette, Indiana USA

Post Number: 150
probably the biggest change IMHO is in driver material.

15 years ago, most speakers were made of paper or polymer.

now you see all kind of metal composites, kevlar, ceramic composites...

all this new technology leads to clearer, more efficient, better sounding speakers.

also, after 15 years, the surrounds on your old KEF's is probably harder than it used to be, so you really SHOULD either replace them, or recone them.

as far as speakers I'd recommend:

B&W 705 - 1500/pair
B&W nautilus 805 - 2000/pair

I'm not familiar with the other brands.

Anonymous

There haven't been any major breakthroughs per say. There are lots of different designs out there though, so you may well find something you like better.

Silver Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 868