Taking the next step

Username: Thedeepcuts

Glenside, PA United States

Post Number: 2
Greetings all. I'm a pro recording engineer and sound designer by day... Aspiring vinyl junkie by night. I've been buying some really nice records lately (180gm remasters, and new albums) and I've been playing them on what is likely a very mediocre system. I bought a decent, entry-level setup... and I'm looking for guidance on taking the next step.

I have a Technics Direct Drive Table, model SL-Q200; using Ortofon P-Mount #14 Cartridges.

That is running into a Rotel RQ-970BX Preamp. From there, I actually bring it up to +4 line level with an ebtech line level shifter. It runs into my studio line mixer and into my powered monitors in the control room.

All told, I only spent $250 on vinyl setup, and I think I might be ready to invest at least twice that, if I am going to really see a significant change in quality of sound.

So... Any suggestions. I'm a big fan of buying used gear... obviously, I only use fresh needles, but I will buy anything else used.

Gold Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 4135

Nice to hear you only use fresh needles, R. Alex.

I'd look for a used Rega of any type. The older "S" arms (sourced from Japan and sold as Rega arms) are less desireable than any Rega table with the Rega arm (RB250/RB300). Any older Rega table can be brought up to current status by changing out parts.

I used to do pro sound and I don't remember an item referred to as a "line level shifter". That sounds like a fancy name for a gain cell with a pot attached. Tell me more, please.

Username: Thedeepcuts

Glenside, PA United States

Post Number: 3
Ebtech Line Level Shifter:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/search/detail/base_pid/189100/sourceid=qIZcQ sp7OUj3AavlL0Zn/befree_site_id=0028042543