Should I get one?

Bronze Member
Username: Lowfront

Post Number: 26
I'm new to audio worth more then 200bucks..

Now I just orderd
5 Fluance SV-6 speakers
Kardon AVR 235 receiver
HSU STF-2 Sub

Do I need to get an equalizer?
If so any suggestions??

Silver Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 722
No. I personally don't believe in them. I think your gear is good enough to not have need of one. If you think otherwise then by all means buy one. Before I would sink a penny into an EQ I would up my investment in the source, amplification, or speakers. How long until the Fluance arrive? Remember what the review said, give them plenty of burn in time before you pass judgement. If they don't seem to be working out get them back to Fluance as soon as possible and try something else like the Ascends. Good luck David.

Silver Member
Username: Thx_3417

Post Number: 843
I believe in them, therefore some part of the home cinema, is going to need EQ applied what ever the case may be.

All the channels or the loudspeakers are in different positions of three-dimensional space, now then, its going to sound different and that is where the EQ comes in to play its part in getting it closely to sounding correctly to the one part in the room the sweet-spot.

Unregistered guest
I have an old Marantz 2220B I'd like to continue to use. It sounds great. I have a 1,000 square foot great room--kitchen, living room, dining room--and I've run 11 14-guage lines under the floor, none further than 30 feet from the amp. The Marantz has capacity for two speaker sets. I want to power all 11 speakers--two sub-woofers and 9 speakers--from the Marantz and be able to control the volume of each speaker individually. Do I need a distribution amp, too? What if I want a graphic equalizer in the circuit, too? How do I make this happen?

Username: Oldschoolgigalo

KETTERING, OHIO UNITED STATES

Post Number: 5