Acoustimass 6 troubleshooting - low sound"

Dawn
I am a beginner with home audio, and am having some difficulties with some components I bought. I have a Sony STR-DE875 receiver and a set of Bose Acoustimass 6 speakers. Everything is connected properly, and I have put all the speaker settings on the receiver as Bose suggests (large vs. small, etc.). However, I have to turn the receiver up to almost max to get a normal sound level. I figured at max I should be blown out of my apartment by sound...any suggestions? Thanks!

David
Yes, through those piece of crap Bose speakers away and buy some decent speakers. Apparently you fell for the biggest marketing hype ever created. Bose. No highs, No lows, must be BOSE.

Chris Duplass
My Panasonic DVD player is connected via an Optical digital line to my receiver. During playback I get a low level hum from my left speaker. I don't get this hum with any of my analog inputs(am/fm, TV).Speaker connections are good. Could my optical cable be the problem???

Anonymous
no, not if you are getting a good signal to the rest of your channels. possibly your drivers in your receiver are bad, or the digital encoder in your dvd player, but my money would be on your receiver. as for analog, they would be good with bad drivers, because there is no digital decoding happening within the receiver. i had the same problem with a sony receiver i had.

Anonymous
How old are your Bose AM6 speakers. If they are a few years old it may be that your Bose is not compatible with your receiver. I had the same problem and I went out a purchased a powered subwoofer.

My Sony receiver isn't playing sound anymore.It plays a little sound when I have it on full blast and I hookup my CD player to the tape input and select Tuner,yeah I know weird,but other then that I don't have any sound.