Receiver upgrade?

mark edwin
Unregistered guest
Hi guys, Newbie here. I have a Onkyo TX-sr700 (100 watts per) with NHT ST4's up front with SC2 center and some SB1's for rears with a velodyne sub. It sounds decent but it seems the ST4's are power hungry and i find im not getting the power i want and when i do crank it the onkyo has that lovely protect mode that shuts it down. My question is would the Marantz SR8400 that everybody's been touting would be an actual upgrade or not? Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Silver Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 445
Most definitely an upgrade! Onkyo is notorious for inflating its power ratings, Marantz (along with Harman Kardon and Denon) is not. Ah yes, that infamous Onkyo protect mode is also something you'll be blissfully free of with the 8400.

Silver Member
Username: Eramsey

South carolina United States

Post Number: 130
Have to agree with Edster, ditch the Onkyo,buy an HK,Marantz,Denon,NAD,Rotel,Pioneer "Elite" or Arcam. I would not consider anything else, Because all of the above have decent power supplies, and this is the most important consideration when buying an AV receiver. Onkyo has a good bit of current limiting in their amplifier sections in their receivers and most of them will have trouble with speakers that dip into low impedences or at least sound "thin" with such a speaker. The only Onkyo that will not have trouble is the flagship model the TRX1000, which has a very robust power supply. This receiver however, costs $4K U.S.D., at that price seperates can be had. E.Ramsey

mark edwin
Unregistered guest