Need some advice for my setup

yammyguy
Unregistered guest
I am a newbie and need someone to help me about the av receiver and speakers matching.

I have got a Yamaha av receiver RX-V440 (entry level) and plan to buy the matching front speakers for my music listening.

1) From the attached spec sheet, which spec data should I care for choosing the matching speaker with this yamaha av receiver?
2)Most of the forum members saying that yamaha receivers are bright. What does it mean?
3) What front speakers (just for music listening in stereo) are matching with this yamaha?
As my receiver is a low-end so only consider the bookshelf speakers ( a pair) for not more than 400 US$. Or any floorstanding in this budget.

In addition, the manual says that this model has the High Current Amplification (95 W x 6 ch).
Extra Large low impedance transformer (4.2 kg, 9.3 lbs) etc.

Yamaha Rx=V440 Spec sheet.
Audio Section
--------------
Minimum RMS Output Power for Main,Center,Tear,Rear Center
------------------------------
20 Hz to 20 KHz 0.06% THD, 8 ohms -----75 W
1Khz, 0.7% THD, 8 ohms------90 W

DIN Standard Output Power
-------------------------
1Khz, 0.7% THD, 4 ohms----- 110 W

IEC Power
----------
1Khz, 0.06% THD, 4 ohms----- 75 W

Maximum Power (EIAJ)
---------------------------------
1Khz, 0.06% THD, 4 ohms----- 95 W

Dynamic Power (IHF) 8/6/4/2 ohms
----------------------------------
95/120/150/190 W

Linear Damping - Yes
-------------------------
Damping Factor (8 ohms, 20-20,000 Hz)

Freq. Response
-----------------------
10-100,000 Hz, +0,-3dB

Tone control Characteristics
------------------------------------------
Bass Boost/Cut +/- 10 dB 60 Hz
Treble Boost/Cut +/- 10 dB 20 kHz

Signal-to Noise reatio (CD, 250 mV) 100 dB

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Silver Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 412
Those specs are far less useful than this sort of info:

1. how big is your room?
2. what's your HT vs. music use?