Help required in buying a A/V reciever

Username: Merlot

Post Number: 1
Hi,
I am a newbie in this field, planning to buy a A/V reciever. I reside in India and there are few stores that carry good A/V with them. In India, I have played around with Denon (with KEF speakers) and Onkyo (with ONKYO speakers) recievers in their exclusive outlets. The cost of these recievers is almost double so I thought of getting it from US.

One of my friend suggested me the following systems:
1> Pioneer VSX 912k
2> Denon AVR 1804
3> Onkyo TX SR601

My budget for the A/V reciever is around $300 - $400 (speakers not inclusive).
Usage of the reciever would be something like this: 35% Music, 40% Movie, 25%TV

Since getting the speakers to India from US is difficult I am planing to buy the speakers in India. I have option for buying KEF and Onkyo speakers. I initially want to buy front floor standing speakers and addon the speakers over a period of time.

Could any gurus help me out in deciding which A/V reciever to buy. Since my plan is to addon the speaker over a period of time, I need reciever that play with minimum number(2) of speakers. Also please suggest among KEF and Onkyo which is a better one?

jimvm
Unregistered guest
I'm not familiar with the Pioneer, but either the Denon or the Onkyo receiver would be fine. After spending time with both of them, choose the one which has the look, feel and features you like best. Between KEF and Onkyo speakers, I would choose KEF.

Post Number: 2
will this reciever work with just 2 speakers???

Silver Member
Username: Gman

Mt. Pleasant, SC

Post Number: 641