College student needs advice with choosing a new stereo setup

Username: Chrismorgan

Post Number: 1
Hi Folks,

I am writing to ask you opinion of a purchase I am considering. I am a budding audiophile college student with about $600 I am willing to spend on a new system for stereo listening (mostly classical and some jazz).

Right now I am looking at:
JBL 38II speakers (Discontinued, and priced at $250)
Either and Onkyo 8211 or a Sony STR-DE185 reciever (200, 135)
and a Pioneer DV-563A DVD/CD/SACD/DVD-A (150)

Is there anything I should change in this setup? What type of connections should be used? Any help or additional ideas is appreciated.

Sincerely,
Chris Morgan

Silver Member
Username: Hawk

Post Number: 281
Chris:

Change everything.

If you want great sound, try this setup:

1. NAD C320bee integrated amp: $319 new from www.saturdayaudio.com. If you want to save even more, they offered me a factory refurb for $289.

2. Epos ELS-3 speakers: $269.95/pair, and the shipping is free. See them here:

http://www.hcmaudio.com/comp.asp?compID=522

Named Budget Audio Product of the Year on three different continents--they are something special.

Silver Member
Username: Gman

Post Number: 189
Chris---

What exactly do you want? You say you want to listen to stereo, but then you have a Pioneer DVD player that is universal for playing surround sound.

Unless you are a college student that lives home or off campus, I doubt you could fit a surround system in a typical college dorm room. In addition, most surround is really for watching considerable amount of dvd's. So it is pointless buying surround with the Pioneer dvd player unless you have a good tv.

If you truly just want to listen to stereo, Hawk has given you a fine recommendation, unless you want to have a receiver to listen to AM/FM too. But back in my college days I only listened to my clock radio for AM/FM and mostly played my stereo for LP's.