Speakerstands

Username: Oltronix

Post Number: 1
Hi! My first post so I'm sorry for all the faults it will contain.

I'm thinking of buying the B&W DM602 s3 speakers for my NAD C 320BEE amp and I'm wondering how much the speaker stands affect the sound quality. Thing is I don't care about the design that much, unless it's really bad. The store where I'll be buying the speakers have two stands that I'm considering:
Gale arc120* cost: 600sek (about 85usd)
VM ACOUSTICS Blackfoot 45: 1400sek (~200usd)
If I buy the cheaper stands I can afford to upgrade the connecter between pre out and the main in.

I am really new to this so I would appreciate any help I can get in this decision. And please excuse my poor English.

* http://www.gale.co.uk/arc/arc120.html

Silver Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 285
Andreas

Stands do make a difference since they are what you are using to sink energy from the speaker and stop it vibrating. The 602 is a large standmount, so it would make sense to have a heavier stand than a light one. However, this doesn't mean that it should be the heaviest stgand in existence! If the stand is too heavy it can make a speaker sound 'dead', so you're best advised by your dealer who will have appropriate stands that he knows work well with the speaker. I don't know the stands you mention so I can't help you with that choice.

Your English is almost perfect! No reason to excuse yourself.

Regards,
Frank.

edster922
Unregistered guest
I personally have grave doubts about high-end speaker stands and fancy wiring/connections really making any noticeable difference unless:

1. You are using particularly large, heavy speakers either set on "large" or without a subwoofer, AND listen to a lot of bass-heavy sources.

2. You buy truly rickety stands that stand the risk of falling over, esp. the adjustable height ones.