Hawk and others, need help with receiver match for Vandersteens

dcd
Unregistered guest
I'm converting to HT and need an av receiver to match my speaks which are all Vandersteen (2Ce's for fronts, VLRs for the rear, and V2W for sub). Music to movies is 50/50. From an earlier thread, it sounds like I'll need 100 watts continuous per channel to drive the 2Ce's which are 86 dB in a large room (21 x 28). I'm willing to spend up to $2k and the local dealers have Rotel, Yamaha, Arcam, Pioneer Elite, Integra, and Denon in that range. I'm a rookie at this and am hoping this purchase will last me a long time. Thank you.

Username: Shawn_f

Post Number: 3
DCD,

Having never heard Vandersteen's, but seeing that they are inefficent for the most part, I would look for something outside the receiver route. You can get used seperates, or a new set of Outlaw seperates in that range. The Outlaw will have 200wpc, enough to drive those fronts. I am not fan of Rotel or Yamaha. I also think the Denon will be underwhleming for you because no matter how many watts it says it has, the 3803 has problems driving my Paradigm Studio 60's, which are listed at 91dB... So look at Outlaw they have a great 30-day money back program. So if you don't like the sound, you can send them back and only lose out on shipping. Try the 755 and the outlaw pre-amp. I doubt you will be disappointed. Assuming that the Vandersteens mesh well with them. Just MHO on all this...

dcd
Unregistered guest
Shawn- Thanx for the input. I'm really trying to keep the HT simple and know nothing about separates. I am hoping there's an av receiver that will fit the bill.

Username: Shawn_f

Post Number: 6