From Scratch...

EKIM05
Unregistered guest
looking for some advice on a mid/upper priced receiver mostly for music, then HT. Currently, I have nothing and am looking at the following:

1) HK 430/630, 435/635 - would like vid up conversion though
2) Denon 2805/3805
3) Yamaha ?
4) Marantz ?

Any thoughts on these receivers and a good speaker match?

Thanks for your help!

Bronze Member
Username: Dloweman

Post Number: 44
Without any budget, it is hard to recommend. However, just some general thoughts. The Denon 2805/3805 and Yamaha 1500/2500 sound great with paradigm and psb. I would check out the monitor line for paradigm if you can afford it. Marantz and HK sound great with Monitor Audio (maybe the silvers) and B&W, Klipsch, etc. I would also add Pioneer elite with these last set of speakers as they are great receivers. Little more info and some more people here will probably try to help you out.

EKIM05
Unregistered guest
Thanks for your input. I am pretty new to this and having difficulty with the amt of info out there. Anyway, this is my estimated budget:

1) receiver - $700-$1000
2) speakers 5.1 - $1,500 - 2K? haven't really started researching these yet
3) Sub - $300-$400
4) DVD Player - 200-300

Would like to keep it all around $3k - $3500. Is this realistic?

Silver Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 274
EKIM05

You say 'mostly for music' above. The only make that does music reasonably well at that price range is NAD. A little more cash would allow you to buy the Arcam AVR250 which is in another league in terms of musicality (as well as surround abilities). The NADs get bashed as well as praised hereabouts. They seem to suffer a little more background hiss than some receivers, but musically speaking, they're a lot better than the rest (Pioneer, Marantz, Denon, etc) so they should be on your shortlist.

If you can stretch to an Arcam, then try to get to hear one - they're brilliant amps.

Regards,
Frank.

EKIM05
Unregistered guest