SACD and new stereo

Username: Michaellovett

Post Number: 1
Hiya
I'm a newbie to the whole SACD thing. I just read Sony's description of the technology and have two basic questions:

1. Is the sound noticably better (in all cases)?

2. I just got a new receiver and new speakers, at the cost of about $2200.00 and didn't really think about SACD. My question is: if I get a SACD player, does my receiver have to be SACD "enabled" as well, or does it look just like any other digital audio source from the receivers point of view?

Thanks!
Michael

Bronze Member
Username: Usa2k4

Post Number: 17
Due to the higher resolution, most SACD's would sound much better than conventional CDs. Multichannel SACD as well as DVD Audio playback requires analog 5.1 input on receiver or preamplifier. If your receiver has 5.1 input, you're ready to rock!

Bronze Member
Username: Froggy

Post Number: 12
To answer your qeustion in all cases do SACD sound better, IMHO, no.

Some recordings are much better than others, for example Peter white new wave type accoustic guitar album Glow, Steely Dans Gaucho, America's Home comming, Grateful Dead American Beauty are fine examples of great mixing, I have other albums that are not as well mixed.

SACD in my opinion are not as well mixed as DVD Audio but that MHO based on the the 15 cd's I own, try to stick with the multi channel recordings if your into surround.

Silver Member
Username: Two_cents

Post Number: 385
SACDs generally sound better than CDs, but not in all cases. 1) A well recorded CD can sound better than a poorly recorded SACD. 2) A CD played on a hi-fi player or transport/dac can sound as good as an SACD played on a mid-fi player.

To answer your second question, if you have a stereo receiver you can enjoy listening to SACDs on a SACD player in stereo. Most SACDs are formatted for stereo and multi-channel playback. If you have a multi-channel receiver, you can listen in stereo or surround.