Very Basic Speaker Help

Bob Zim
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to all this so please,
forgive my very basic question. I have a Denon DC-30 minisystem that I bought in 1995. It came with two 50watt bookshelf speakers that still sound very good. Along with the stereo, I hooked the speakers up to the television in my entertainment center to give a bit of "Home Theatre" sound to my TV. I would like to hook up two more speakers (Polk R20's) to the system. My question is, when I look at the back of the minisystem, I see four clips (2 red, 2 black) with a corresponding red and black wire going into each clip for the original two speakers. How would I hook up the two new speakers with that type of setup. Would I just put two speaker wires in each clip? Would doing this distort the sound in all four speakers? I hope this makes sense and any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Addy Landzaat
I would strongly advice not to try things like this!! A poweramp is a electric powerhouse and since you don't know what your connecting (I don't expect that your minisystem has complete electrical drawings with it) it WILL blow!!!

If you want a "hometheater" sound, buy a real HT receiver, much safer!

Bob,

What you just described doing is the wrong way to get a "theater" experience. Don't do it!!

Your best bet is to buy a home theater system. Check out the Consumer Reports on basic systems.

If, however you are determined to try to work your magic with a small bookshelf system, be warned, you may kill the system you have.