Dump Speakers or Receiver?

Username: Mandomichael

Russell, Pa Usa

Post Number: 1
This is my first post. I just found this forum. I have the Sony STRDE-925 with 4/8 ohm switch and Cerwin Vega VS series 4 ohm speakers. The center and rear and Advent 8 ohm. I have no Sub, but the CV's go Way down there so I've never missed it. I know it's a hodgepodge. but they do sound surprisingly good and I'm a musician so I'm pickier than most, though not an audiophile. I use the system for music 75% of the time and movies 25%. I keep burning up the amps in the Sony. (DUH?!) Well, the guy at BR549 slash rate deals thought it would work. What did I know(self-evident)? I would like to know:
1) can I run these speakers with any receiver and not expect problems.
2) Would the addition of a subwoofer keep it from burning the amps?
3) can I add some kind of resistor or otherwise change the impedance on the speakers without ruining the sound?

I don't have a great deal to spend right now, but I'd like to hear as many options as possible.

Bronze Member
Username: Kano

Post Number: 46
They're some great speakers, with a luke warm receiver. The ES line of Sony's is good, but I don't even think they offer a Receiver that can push past 6 ohm impedance.

Get a new receiver which can handle the speakers. You may want to think of a 2 channel power amp which can drive at 4 Ohms.

Biggest question would be why does that Sony Receiver lead you to believe it can drive 4 ohm speakers but can't? Maybe the fine print says to keep the volume level at -50 or lower.

Russell, Pa Usa

Post Number: 2