Why using a pre-amp?

Newbe
Unregistered guest
I am new to this subject. I have made my own speakers and now I am looking into either getting an receiver or a pre-amp. I don't know anyone who owns a pre-amp and I realize it is the more expensive way to go. I like to know what makes you guys pay the extra money?

Jan Vigne
Unregistered guest
A reciever is made of three component put into one box. A tuner, whose function should be obvious by its name. A pre amp, whose function is to do two things; step up low level signals from the various source components (with buffering between inputs and outputs) such as phono, tuner, tape, etc. and to give you the control over these sources that will send signals in the desired direction (selector switch), give you volume adjustment and whatever other control functions you might need. In the early days of audio, before turntables and tape decks, the function of stepping up signal levels was not a part of a "pre amp" and the unit was simply called a control amp. The last piece of a reciever is the power amplifier which is where wattage is developed. By placing all three in one box a designer has to make certain concessions to the layout which may seriously affect the sound. By separating each component of a "reciever" you achieve (ideally) better performance and the ability to pick which piece actually suits your needs the best. Recievers are meant (usually) to sell for less money than separates and unless you have a good sized budget you will probably need to look at a reciever or used separates. By removing just the tuner from a "reciever" you create an integrated amplifier. Because this is a somewhat specialized market niche (particularly in the US) this is often a better built component than a reciever and you can, if you desire, add a separate outboard tuner at any time.

Anonymous

It makes no difference to the human ear. Save your money.

Bronze Member
Username: 514329

Post Number: 36