Another newbie...help with receiver selection...

Anonymous

I dont really know what to look for in a receiver so i was hoping you guys could point me in the right direction. I am looking for a receiver for 500 or less. I want at least 5.1. (features?) This will be used for mainly music(loud) and some movies. I was thinking about a home theater package, receiver and speakers, but my friend said no. He gave me this website and said post my question. So my question is what receiver do you think i should get? Thanks for any help. If you want to know more info, ask a question, i dont know what else to say. thanks again

J

hoosierhooch
Unregistered guest
I'm a relative newbie too. I have been researching for a few weeks and using this forum as a resource before I purchase a receiver in the next few weeks.

First of all, you might as well go 7.1 if you're gonna spend ~$500. You might not need it now, but you will in the future. I've also learned that, even though some have personal preferences, you really can't go wrong with Yamaha, Denon, Marantz, or Harman Kardon. These companies have many receivers ranging from your budget (and mine) to the ridiculously expensive.

Check out those company websites and see what's in your range. Being a newbie like me, you don't have a prejudice. So I submit you could get a $500 Yamaha to do whatever you needed it to.

Silver Member
Username: Bleustar

Pensacola, Florida

Post Number: 169
I would suggest that you take a look at Harman Kardon or Marantz if music(loud) is a priority for you. Both these brands sound decidedly better for music at your ($500) price point.

HK AVR230 or AVR330
Marantz SR5400

Silver Member
Username: Elitefan1

Post Number: 761
I would also add the Elitevsx52. Can be had from Dynaco.com for $539.

Silver Member
Username: Rh1

Post Number: 377