Monitor Audio GR10's or 20's to complete system. Opinions?

Kathy
Unregistered guest
My first 2 posts poofed into the ether instead of posting I think. 2nd time I was smart enough to copy and paste. So here we try again.

Hard to believe it was about a year ago I started studying these message boards & mulling over all this knowledge on what to look for and think about in putting together a great system.

So here I am today with these pieces in place, and loving it even tho it isn't complete:
Pioneer Elite 45
Pair of GR10's
GR Center Channel
Pioneer DV563A DVD player

I'm at a point budgetwise where I can start thinking about rounding it out as a 5.1 system. Since my local MA dealer sold out a couple of months ago and the new ownership isn't going to carry MA any longer, looks like I'll have to do some long distance shopping. (Keif's perhaps?)I would really have liked to bring home a pair of the 10's and a pair of 20's to see if the extra , and considerable! expense of the 20's is worth it but now I can't. No dealers within couple hundred miles or more. I'm very tempted to go with the 10's but I'd like to hear from others who could tell me what I might be missing, if that makes sense.
Current room is on the small side 16 x 18, which makes me think 10's 'll be okay. Tastes are 90 music / 10 movies.

And a sub. What do you think about the HSU STF -1 with the above? Or other suggestions in 300-400 price range?

Thanks!

Silver Member
Username: Elitefan1

Post Number: 717
If you can afford the 20' and a floorstander is appropriate to your room acoustics I would buy them. I absolutely love the Gold 20 and envy anyone who has the room for them. As to the sub it's a shame that MA's subs are so expensive. You have mentioned a good one for the money; also look at Velodyne and Paradigm PDR and PS series. I especially like the Paradigm PS1000 for the money.

Kathy
Unregistered guest
Thanks for the input. There is a Paradigm dealer nearby, I can check into the PS1000.