Wharfedale Diamond 8 Series (8.1, 8.4, 8 Center) vs Infinty Primus HCS brand

Username: Oymd

Post Number: 1
Aloha to all...this is my FIRST post...so go easy on me...

I have recently purchased an A/V reciever..the YAMAHA RX-V 540...and was looking for a good 5.1 setup...but with 2 good front main speakers for STEREO music purposes...(Especially CLASSICAL music)

What do you guys think of the quality of the Wharfedale Diamond 8 Series ??

I auditioned them and I kind of liked them...but I am no expert...What is the word on this BRAND on these forums...

The components:

1- Wharfedale Diamond 8.3 pair for FRONTs ( or Diamond 8.4 pair for $100 more....he he..)
2- Diamond 8 center
3- Diamond DFS Bi-Pole surrounds (or Wharfedale Diamond 8.1 pair for rears on stands)
4- Wharfedale Powercube 8A for a SUB...or 10A for $75 more

All for ~ $650

In the same price range I can get an Infinity Primus HSC set

http://international.infinitysystems.com/homeaudio/products/category/primushcs_s eries.asp?language=ENGLISH

Or JBL HSC 178 set...($100 cheaper)

http://international.jbl.com/home/products/product_detail.asp?ProdId=SCS178/230& SerId=SCS&language=ENGLISH

Any thoughts??

Silver Member
Username: Rh1

Post Number: 216
I have the Wharfedale Diamond 8.3 fronts, Diamond center, and Diamond 8.1 surrounds. They are undoubtedly a great speaker set up especially at the price. I also listen to classical a considerable amount and love these speakers for them. They not only perform well with this type of music but with pop, rock, and techno as these are my other genres. The only drawbacks I see are the grills being flimsy but the speakers look better without them. These speakers at 86db (Diamond 8.3) efficiency do need a bit more power than others but I don't have a problem with it using my Kenwood Sovereign VR5700.