Magnepan MMG and NAD 742

clayton
Unregistered guest
I have been looking for new speakers to replace my Athena FS-1's and I realize that the bass extension will not be the same, nothing a sub can not take handle.

My question is will the NAD 742 sound good with MMG's? I have read various accounts as to what sounds good and how much power. I have read about someone driving the MMG's well with the 752 and in the factory tour by soundstage live they mention how they saw MMG's being used with an NAD receiver in the lobby.

I had been looking at getting another setting of axioms as I have the mt22ti but the MMG's sound exactly what I am looking for as a musician I love the live sound factor. Plus the NAD has the nice warm characteristics that I love.

Username: John_a

Post Number: 100
This one for Hawk. I remember MMGs require a receiver that will drive 4 Ohm speakers. All NADs do that, but we discovered the T742 user manual says 8 Ohm speakers. Hawk contacted NAD, if I remember, and they said it was a mistake in the manual, there was really no difference from the other NAD receiver models.

I would certainly try the Magnepans. Certain models have a long, no-committment home trial period - provided you live in the US but are remote from a dealer. Check out the Magnepan web site. It sounds like you already have a T742. If so, there is nothing to lose by seeing how the combination works. If not, it is a great receiver in its own right, and there is no penalty in starting from there, and seeing which are the best speakers to go with it.

clayton
Unregistered guest