Which laptops can burn DVD's?

Username: Hamjones2

Post Number: 1
I'm looking for a laptop that plays and copies both CD's and DVD's. I'm not that good with the jargon so when I see DVD-R/CD-RW, DVD ROM, DVD+CDRW, DVD+/-RW etc etc, i don't know whether they actually copy/burn DVD's. Can you write a list of all the descriptions I might find when looking at Laptop specs, and write next to them whether they burn or just play DVD's and if they have any ummm limitations to what they can burn or play. Also any other information I might find helpful would be greatly apreciated. Thankyou

Gold Member
Username: Illuminator

USA

Post Number: 2888
To burn DVDs, all it needs is an R behind 'DVD'.

If it does that, it will burn CDs.

Example of what doesn't do DVD burns:

CD-RW, CD-R, DVD

Example of what does do DVD burns (and by extension, CD burns):

DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RW, DVD+RW

Post Number: 2
So will this laptop definately burn DVD's?

Intel Pentium Mobile Centrino 745 (1.8GHz) processor, Integraded 2MB on-die Level 2 cache,

* 512MB DDR SDRAM (333MHz) Upgradeable to 2GB max,

* 80GB (5400 rpm) Hard Drive

* 14.1" colour TFT XGA (1024 x 768 resolution),

* nVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 graphics with 64MB DDR Video

* ADI AD1981B AC'97 Software 3D Sound Stereo

* DVD-SuperMuliti (DVD+R+RW, DVD RAM) drive,

* V.90/V.92 modem, LAN 10/100/1000 Ethernet,

* Wireless 802.11b/g + Bluethooth antenna,

* (1) SD Slot, II PC card slot, Parallel, Infrareed, RGB, (2) USB 2.0, TC Out (S-Video), iLink (IEEE 1994), headphone port, mirophone port, expansion bus for port replicator,

* Microsoft Windows XP Professional.

Gold Member

USA

Post Number: 2891

quote:

* DVD-SuperMuliti (DVD+R+RW, DVD RAM) drive,

Yep. It burns DVDs.

That "DVD+R+RW" is poor technical spelling-it's redundant. If the laptop records rewritable (hence the 'W'), then it obviously records normally.

That wouldn't happen to be a Toshiba Tecra M2, would it?

Bronze Member
Username: Blazingarrow74

Chicago, IL U.S.A.