Need Help Selecting Amp/EQ

Username: Coronach

Post Number: 1
Hey guys.

My current system is a Nakamichi MB-75 HU running 4 5x7 Infinity Kappa speakers. I want to add a 8" sub, an amp and an EQ...the problem is that I have never done this before and I'm not sure where to start.

I have not yet bought my sub, so I'm flexible on that, but I've been leaning towards a Resonance Engineering RE8. The sub does need to be an 8", for sure, due to the size limitation of the space where I'm gonna stick it.

I would prefer that any amps/EQs/crossovers I use be hidden out of sight (this is gonna be a stealth, low profile install). Heat is not a big concern (I plan to stick them under a console, if possible, and I can wire up fans to keep air moving over them). I will have space under the console lid to mount the EQ so I can adjust the controls...though a remote would be nice, too.

I do not do loud. I don't bump. I just want a crisp, clean, rich vibrant sound...not earthquake audio. I have a bit of money to burn on this, too, so I don't plan to cheap out.

Thanks for any help you can give me,

Mike

PS The Infinity Kappas are 4 ohm and the RE8 sub is dual 4 ohm.

Username: Sixstar

Post Number: 4
Okay, for the Kappas, I would get the JL 300/4. Thats 75 watts RMS into each of the four speakers. I believe those in question are up to 100 RMS, correct?

You might want to switch subs though. The RE8 is a very good sub, but having just one, it might be hard to find an amp that runs that little power into 2 ohms (I believe it is 150 RMS). You can get a two channel amp and run only 1 channel, but thats a waste.

You can't bridge channels either, because that would make them be stable at 4 ohms.
Maybe a switch to a JL 8W7 might be in store, and run a JL 250/1 to it.

As for an equilizer, I would go with a Pioneer. Just search for them, and buy the one that has the options you want.

Post Number: 2