Need an amp and on a tight budget

Desperate_Man
Unregistered guest
I have very little money after buying a car, and mods for the car, so i need to find a 2400 watt 2 ch amp that wont cost that much.....im not proud of it but one of the only ones i can find that i could pay for is a legacy LA2080 amp.....i know...i know ... so unless you guys(girls??) can help me find a 2400 watt 2 ch amp for under $200 im gonna have to buy that

Yaadi
Unregistered guest
i'm kinda new to this, but i found a PYLE Amp (2400 W peak when bridged) for under a buck 50 ($150) at "shopping.com" formerly "dealtime.com"

Silver Member
Username: Purplehase_bong

Bc Canada

Post Number: 108
dont get legacy!!! here's a good amp that will beat the legacy by far! http://www.cardomain.com/item/PHOR402

Username: Koz1031

Monticello, In United states

Post Number: 4
check out the rocaudio items on ebay, go to his store, some of his stuff if decent, and a darned good price

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 4327
what makes you think you need 2400 watts of power?
that will require a new alternator, 0ga cable at $6 per foot, and a bank of deep cycle batteries in the back of the car.

I run 2500 watts total in my system between three amplifiers, and those amps were $1,250 each to get that much clean power.

the Legacy you saw only puts out about 200-300 watts total RMS. peak and max ratings are meaningless. You're getting ripped off with that legacy, it'll sound like crap, and it won't last very long before you're buying a new one to replace it when it fails and destroys the speakers too.

I'm assuming you found a pair of subs you liked that are made by some company like audiobahn and claim they're 1200 watt speakers?
that's a thermal rating, not the amount of power the subs actually need to reach peak excursion.
they probably only need about 300 watts each for peak performance in a decent box.