Power Acoustik Area 51 Amp / Audiobahn subs

Fallout
Unregistered guest
I'm pretty new to car audio and don't know much.
I've been looking at the Power Acoustik Area 51 Amp with 1600w and 820rms. Can anyone tell me how good are they from a scale of 1-10. Also how well would audiobahn subs go well with it. I also have no stinking clue how good or bad audiobahn subs are. So ANY help would be appreciated. Thx.

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 4262
scale of 1 to 10
amp: 3
subs: 1

fallout
Unregistered guest
Wow. That sucks. What do you recomend?

Gold Member

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 4275
depends a lot on your budget for sub(s) and amp.
one good sub will out-perform two crappy ones though, so you don't always need to use two to get a good amount of bass.
keep that in mind.

Silver Member
Username: Grmncrsnbr

VA

Post Number: 290
whats your price range?
Vehicle?
Favorite Music Type?
Prefer Sound Quality or just loud?

Fallout
Unregistered guest
amp 150-200
sub 200-250
car: 2004 Civic
Music: Rap
Sound quality + Loud

Silver Member
Username: Grmncrsnbr

VA

Post Number: 291
id look into cerwin vega vmaxes
if you got two tens with a 600W amp @ 2 ohms mono amp youd be doin alright. they have a good excursion and from what i understand good SQ also. you can get two on ebay for about 170 and that way you have a little mor for a good amp.

Gold Member

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 4279
I'd consider a single Kicker CompVR 15" sub in a slot vented enclosure. 3cu ft.
use a JBL BP600.1 to drive the sub. get a dual 4 ohm coil version to get a 2 ohm load and 600wRMS to the sub.

that'd be great for rap.

Fallout
Unregistered guest
A pair of 12" Kicker S12L7 2ohm, pair of 15" S12L5 4ohm, or a single Kicker CompVR 15" ? Would it be better with a kicker amp or the JBL BP600.1?

Gold Member

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 4291
the kicker amp is better but considerably more expensive.