New system amp problem

Username: Damon525

Pocatello, Idaho United States

Post Number: 1
Alright amateur question that you are all probably sick of answering but I need some help so I just put the system I had in my car into my truck I have a kenwood kdc x399 head unit and a KAC 5001 I think but I'm not entirely sure but it is pushing a single alpine type R 12 anyway got it all hooked up worked great for about a day but on a bass heavy song the amp cut out and didn't come back on I shut my truck of and then turned it on and it worked fine after that day later did it again didn't think much of it since it has done it before turned my truck of and let it sit over night came back the next day amp won't turn on now... I replace the fuses going from the battery to the amp and looked at the fuse coming out of the back of the amp it's self didn'looked blown but I but another in just to make sure and it still didn't work any suggestions I am not very experienced with this stuff any help would be great

Gold Member
Username: Joe1234

Post Number: 2002
Make sure the sub is wired to the amp at no mess than 2 ohm final load. if you ran at lower than 2 ohm you might have blown the amp.

You may want to take a look if the amp is entering protect mode or not turning on, you should check your electrical, ground cable to chassis, etc.

Post Number: 2
What would happen if it went into protect mode? And how do I tell if it 2 ohm sorry for if these are dumb questions

Post Number: 3
So I just unhooked everything and hooked it back up again still nothing but when I take my radio wire and touch it to my power cord for a second then back onto the radio wire screw it turns on then slowly fades does this mean anything? Thanks

Gold Member

Post Number: 2003