Need help Problem with 6x9 humm

Username: Ryanpowens

Conneaut, OH United States

Post Number: 1
Okay so i installed everything myself and before you say anything i am not a professional but i have installed stereo systems before in other vehicles of mine just like this one. So i have a pioneer premier head unit and a 2 channel 70w rms soundstream amp wired at 4 ohms to 2 kicker 6x9s rated at 70w rms 4 ohms. The amp is powered by 0 gauge and i have also done the big 3 the amp is grounded on the rear strut which i heard was the best ground and the big 3 on the front strut. The speaker wire is 16 gauge regular speaker wire and i have the amp wired to the high pass thing that comes with it, it was pretty self explanatory ummm. Lets see what else the ground from the high pass thing is grounded to the car and another wire is ran to hook in to the headunit ground. But the problem i am having is that when the key is turned to acc or to on or started and the volume is at 0 i hear this loud high pitched not ear screeching but it is pretty annoying its a loud hum or buzz its more of a ehhhhhhhhhhhhh if that helps at all lol. But i have checked every ground on the car and i dont want to install a filter...... i want to fix it the right way so does anybody have any ideas? i heard that pioneers need to have the rca housings grounded or something like that but im up for suggestions. thank you for your time.

Silver Member
Username: Joe1234

Post Number: 377
Could be Pioneer's infamous picofuse issue, just unplug the RCAs from the amp that powers the 6x9s and turn on the car, if you hear nothing the noise is HU related so 2 things can most likely be:

1) the RCAs damaged or improperly routed.
2) the picofuse issue!!

Do you have a multimeter at hand?

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Columbia, South Carolina

Post Number: 14520
try turning down the gain on the amplifier

Post Number: 2