Potential new system, what are your thoughts?

Username: Phlopped

Post Number: 1
Hi Guys,

Im pretty new to all of this, I have previously just had a cheap sub/amp ~£100 in total, so nothing special and I'm thinking of buying a whole new system. what are your thoughts on the below?

RE Audio DTS-1000.1 amplifier 800wrms @ 1OHM (I know their subs are good, I have no idea about their amps though?)

JVC KD-HDR70 Head Unit (is it any good, does it have subwoofer controls?)

RE Audio SEX12D2 Subwoofer 600wrms @ 2OHMs (DVC)

4 x Alpine SPR-50 5.25" 90wrms @ 4OHMs speakers for the doors (again, dont know anything about these so any info would be great)

RE Audio DTS-500.2 50wrms @ 4OHMs amplifier (for the door speakers)

I am also buying a ported box for the sub.

All in all including shipping from the US (Im based in the UK, if you haven't noticed the '£' signs ;) ) this will cost me £740 or $1200. I dont really want to stretch the budget any further and i'm not too bothered about the door speakers being underpowered.
If you think I should change any of the above, please let me know.

Thanks

Gold Member
Username: Kaerfpl

Spencerport, NY USA

Post Number: 1130
So far, what you have selected is a pretty decent setup, however there are a few things I noticed that can be improved on.

First up, the RE Audio SEX12D2 is a great subwoofer. I actually have the older version of this subwoofer and it's great. This subwoofer and the RE Audio DTS-1000.1 will be a great matchup for eachother.

Second, the Alpine SPR-50 Speakers are a good choice for their price range, however the RE Audio DTS-500.2 will not be able to support all four Speakers. Not only because it's only putting out 50 Watts RMS when the Apline's need 90 Watts RMS, but because it's a 2-Channel Amplifier when you need a 4-Channel Amplifier. Below is a better choice Amplifier to support those Speakers properly:

Audioque AQ4X90:
http://www.audioque.com/AQ4X90-Amplifier_p_33.html