Need some help choosing the right speakers...any suggestions?

Bronze Member
Username: Bp_productions30

Post Number: 39
Hey I'm looking to upgrade my stock front stage speakers in my 2003 Pontiac Vibe. I'm not a newbie, not a professional but pretty well informed car audio guy. Not looking for anything crazy but something that has good clarity and good mids with some low end...my system will have a sub. Not sure what amp im going to use. Like looking to spend some where around $150 for a pair a 6.5 comps. Any advice or suggestions would be very much appreciated. Thank you.

Gold Member
Username: Kaerfpl

Spencerport, NY USA

Post Number: 1125
Hey William, just as an FYI, your Pontiac Vibe has 6-3/4" Speakers in the Front Door and 5-1/4" Speakers in the Rear.

Also, by any chance do you plan on running these comps off of an Amplifier or just off your Deck? Most-to-all comps require them to be amplified to be able to push the Speaker to it's true potential. If your not planning on amplifying the Speakers, then I would suggest not looking into comps, but coaxial instead.

Let me know what you plan on doing and I'll post some suggestions for you.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 40
Ah, nice. Thanks for the knowledge. I thought they were 6.5 all the away around. I do plan on running them of an amp. I will be doing an electrical upgrade too.

Gold Member

Spencerport, NY USA

Post Number: 1126
Well, it could be very well possible that the Factory Speakers might be 6-1/2" Oversized Speakers. This means that the Speaker is 6-1/2", but it is designed to fit in a 6-3/4" Speaker Mount.

Ok, so we are getting somewhere. We know you have $150 to spend and that you are planning on doing a Big 3 Upgrade. I'll assume that you are also planning on installing a subwoofer as well in the near future?

Most 6-1/2" Speakers do not already come with an adaptor to fit into a 6-3/4" Mount, so here is one that you can purchase:

Metra 82-7500: