Used amp questions...

Username: Wandaddy

Post Number: 1
Hi. I am fairly new to the whole car audio thing. I had a little experience back in high school helping friends install their systems and everything, but I have no sort of professional or industry experience. I am a fan of Alpine and Boston Acoustics products though. I am in the military and live in Japan, so I have to order everything online, and I don't really get a chance to hear systems in other people's cars here(they only sell cheaper JVC and Kenwood products on base). I am going for more of a SQ setup and my car is a little 1996 Nissan Pulsar hatchback. I have already purchased the following for my system:

Front Speakers: Boston Acoustics S50 components
Rear Speakers: Boston Acoustics S55's

I am also looking to buy the following eventually:

Sub woofer: Boston Acoustics 12" G3 (I am unsure about single or dual voice coil as of right now)
Head unit: Alpine CDE-102 or CDA-105
Amplifier: Something from Alpine preferably

I bought the S55's and they are already installed in my car and am still waiting for the S50's to come. I only recently found this forum and discovered that a lot of you guys don't use rear speakers. I would prefer to keep mine, since I already bought them and everything. Also they are only being powered by an older Kenwood head unit at this time. Ok, here are my questions:

#1 The first question I have is about using used amplifiers. I am on a budget ($200 USD or less), and I want to get a nice Alpine amplifier to power a 12" Boston Acoustics G3 sub woofer. I have been looking at used ones on Ebay and I am just wondering, is buying a used amp risky? I am just under the assumption that if it works, it works. Are there any internal parts or anything that get worn out over time and would cause the performance of the amp to deteriorate? I had one of those older (maybe mid-90s) Alpine V12 4 channel amps in high school, and it worked great.