Help with setting my sub up

Username: Ryan_opliger

OH

Post Number: 4
I hooked a 15in kicker comp c5(8 ohms) to my alpine MRD-M605 mono amp(400 watts RMS x 1)( Class-D member of Alpine's V12 amplifier series delivers 400 watts of bass-bumping power to a 4-ohm load) (600 watts at 2 ohms ).... im completely lost can someone please help me figure out how to set it up rite and get the best sound/bass/hit out of it

Username: Dkeezy

Houston, TX

Post Number: 7
The way i understand the whole wiring theory with ohms and wattage is that basically the more ohms your subs are, the less power it will present to your amp. Clearly if your amp is rated at 600w at 2 omhs rms, and currently your sub is showing your amp 8ohms, your prob pushing out waayyy less wattage. Im not an expert on this, but Im pretty sure someone else will also comment and help you better understand.

Here's a wiring diagram that might be useful.
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/support_pages.php?page_id=160

Silver Member
Username: Skdooley

Roanoke, VA Usa

Post Number: 252
If the sub is dual 8 ohm and you have it hooked up parallel (red to red, black to black) then you are at a 4 ohm load to the amp. So your sub is seeing around 400 rms. If it is a single voice coil and youre running at 8 ohms cut that in half and its seeing around 200 rms.

Silver Member
Username: Skdooley

Roanoke, VA Usa

Post Number: 253
Also be sure your gain is set correctly. It doesnt work like a volume knob. It is supposed to be at a certain setting to achieve the correct amount of voltage output to your woofer for a given ohm load. The setting will be in your amps manual.

Bronze Member
Username: Tkzone

Clearwater, Florida USA

Post Number: 22