Kenwood 1800 Question

Username: Zrob93

Post Number: 1
Hey, im new to all this stuff and this forum so i have no idea where to post this question so i'm going to post it here. I got a Kenwood 1800 Class D Monoblock amp. And im putting it in a 2000 chevy tahoe. Now what i was wondering is am i going to have to get a better altenator. I have looked around and ive seen people say if its 1000+ watts, then yes. But my dad argued against me saying that since its a SUV and its ment to pull stuff it came with a bigger stock altenator already. So i want to come to people who know and tell me what i should really do. Thanks.

Bronze Member
Username: Tkzone

Clearwater, Florida USA

Post Number: 18
Zack that wouldnt be a kac 9104 with the fan and the blue light? Of course it is and its baaad ayass aint it. Sucked my voltage under 12v on the cap when the low tone hit SO FREAKIN HARD out my cvr12s @1 ohm. Needless to say its cea rated 500wrms@ 4 ohm and 900 plus at 2 or 1. If you have a ds144 delco remy alternator 140 amp in that truck and you get little or no fluctuation on your dash gauge when it hits hard 35hz and under your golden. Please tell me the gauge dont move cause i just bought a 140 amp powermaster all chrome for my s10 blazer and im prayin its enough im pushin over 1500 rms between my two bamfs.anyway the 144 is the optional gm ho alt.Pop may be right. Let me knw bro. Peace

Bronze Member
Username: Tkzone

Clearwater, Florida USA

Post Number: 19
Sorry bro thats a cs144d not a ds144. My bad

Username: Zrob93

Post Number: 2
I haven't installed it yet was gonna do all the appropriate things first but ive asked a couple of people and they said the exact same thing you did so im going to install it probably next week because ive got work and school and no time to do anything as of right now. When i install it ill tell you what happens.

Bronze Member
Username: Bookeeper

Louisiana

Post Number: 13