2008 Toyota Highlander w/ JBL system

Username: Mayqswet

Post Number: 1
Is anyone familiar with how to improve the sound quality in this vehicle? It has mid ranges in the dash, 6x9 woofers in the front doors, 6.5" 2-ways in the rear doors and a ~6" square sub in the rear liftgate.

It seems to me like the music is "trapped" in the dash and front doors -- it's missing the crisp cymbols and higher guitar notes and the front door speakers sound quiet and muddy. Crutchfield says that the front woofers can be replaced with a full range or components while still using the JBL amplifier. I thought the crossover occurred in the amp and you were stuck with low frequency going to the doors and hope that I'm wrong.

Has anyone modified this set up? I'm not that experienced with component speakers, but the CDT CL-69CX or EF-61FG/TW25 PRO seem like good ones to me and are right around my budget.

Gold Member
Username: Nd4spd18

Philadelphia, PA

Post Number: 9464
Are you sure the ones in the dash aren't tweeters?

Most stock systems are a nightmare to use yes. The crossover can be on the speaker or in the amp, only way to know is to test it.

CDT is very good equipment. The lower lines are ok but look into the ES line if you can afford it, those are just awesome, I run a ES-5/DRT-25 combo.

Virginia Beach, VA

Post Number: 2
Thanks for the reply. I found a website that gives more information about the factory set up. www.jbltoyota.com/toyota_highlander/default.asp According to them, they are midranges in the dash.

Could anyone comment on these ideas?

1. Keep the existing set up and simply add CDT upstage tweeters, wired in series with the existing midranges (three speakers on each side)

2. Going with a 3-way component - 6.5" in the door, 4" in the dash (if they'll fit where the midranges currently are) and tweeters on the dash (three speakers on each side).