2 10 inch sony subs 1200 watts.. what amp

Username: Andrewwho99

Post Number: 1
how many watts should the amp i get be? ive heard ppl tell me i should get about 1 600 watt amp cause it runs at the subs rms.. and others have told me to get like a 1000 watt amp so they hit to their best ability... somebody please help me out asap!!

Gold Member
Username: Ctmike

Ct.

Post Number: 6240
post the rms and voice coil of the subs. and budget for an amp.

and do you already have these, or still looking?

Post Number: 2
single 4 ohm 1200 watts rms is 330 watts...

didnt see voice coil.. im a newbie so i pry missed it... yeah i have them.. 150 and under?

Bronze Member
Username: Vivi2000

Post Number: 37
the voice coils is Single 4 ohm. Which is also the independance. If its 330 wants you want something that can do about 600wrms at 2 ohms. Also most people here will say that sony=crap. If you havent opened them yet return them because you can get much better for the same money.
Back to the amp, probably something like this will work, although im sure someone here can find something better/cheaper.
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=19251

Post Number: 3
what kind of subs could i get for similar price?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 38
How much did you spend on them total?

Post Number: 4
i found 2 power acoustik 4 ohm 1100 watt subs pw2 series 450 rms at a good price... what kind of amp would i need to power those?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 39
Power Acoustik is also a mediocre brand. What is your budget, and do you have a box yet for these? Remember to buy something that is decent and will last a while and be good. Spend the extra few bucks for a better brand if you must.

Post Number: 5