Overpowering your alternator

Username: Foober251

Post Number: 1
I have a stock 90 amp alternator. Would it be ok to hook up a t30001bd rockford fosgate amplifier and just turn the gain down to like 1/5th? Does the amp still draw the full 200+ amperes or would it be ok without destroying my alternator. I am not an amature at car audio but i am not a pro. So it might be a noobish question but cant buy everything at one time when you're a student right.

Silver Member
Username: Bonhamd

Northern, Michigan USA

Post Number: 434
that amp is an absolute beast...they are very underrated - you could do it but why run the risk of damaging a great amp?

the t1000bd would be rough on a stock alt

you need a ho alt for the t30001bd for sure

Gold Member
Username: Nd4spd18

Northwest PA

Post Number: 6450
If you turned it way down it wouldn't produce as much power, and wouldn't draw as much power. But what wouldbe the point of having such a big amplifier then?

To properly run that amp you definetly need an HO alternator and a good battery.

Post Number: 2
My goal is/was to install my t30001bd and replace the t1, so I can run the 2 h2's I got sitting in my garage. But as of now I need that HO alt, so I just have 2 phoenix gold rsdc's. Then again, I might want to rethink anything more than I have now seeing how I'm in a 300zx and .. well its quite small. My box for the h2's is custom takes up the entire trunk and tire well, has about 4.5 cu's of space. I think i might want to invest in some new glass/plexi too.....

Gold Member
Username: Juliob

Santo DomingoDominican Re...

Post Number: 5196
you're going to f.ck things up

Post Number: 3
wonderful help, pretty useless, dont respond if you're not going to say anything useful. but thanks

Silver Member
Username: Drant19

DUB-C, TX

Post Number: 416
juliob is right tho... sorry

Gold Member
Username: Cblaze

Rock island, Tenesssee Us

Post Number: 1868
he is helping u out.what juliob said is not useless

Silver Member