Question about alpine subs

kim nguyen
i'm new to car audio and was wondering what the difference is between the alpine line of subs. i don't understand what's the difference between type r, type s, and type e. i already have an alpine cd player so i might as well get alpine for the rest of the system. i just don't know the difference between the subs except for the price and how they look.

teflondog
i'm not really an expert on alpine subs but from what i can tell, the main difference between the type r, type s, and type e, is just power handling. the type r is what you want to go for since it can handle the most power. correct me if i'm wrong anybody.

I believe the Type R is the top dog...but those are some mighty shiny apples you are having to pick from, kind of hard to go wrong.

Kim, I'd talk to the installer that you will have do the work. He can explain to you the benefits of each one and give you suggestions based on your car, your music choice, your amplifier, and what you want out of it.

It would be pointless to get Type R subs if you only have a small amp to drive them.

kim nguyen
thanks for the advice. i have an alpine mono amp which is the mrd-m350. the installer said that i should go with either a pair of the type s or the type e subs since each one handles 200 watts. that means that each sub would get approximately 175 watts from my amp. i listen mostly to music with a lot of bass like rap and techno so i don't know which one to go with. the type s or the type e? the installer said that there isn't much of a difference between the two.

teflondog