Power Issues

Stuart
I was wondering about power for my car. I own a 2003 Honda Civic and have a 375 watt Orion amp, and plan to get a 500-700 watt amp to power my subwoofer, possibly 2 12" subs of some sort, havent decided yet. Basically my question is would that drain my car battery too fast, and if the answer is a resounding no, here is why i asked it. My friend owns a 75 gold duster, and he powered a 15" punch speaker with a 1100 watt amp. Everytime he would really turn the volume up and we went cruising, his car would be difficult to start up after the engine was turned off. I know his car is an old peice of junk, but he just installed a new alternator, and his car battery was pretty new as well. Should i get one of those giant sub batteries? How long would one of those things last with my setup? p.s. sorry, im a newb at this sort of thing :)

teflondog
well first of all, never bump your system when your car is off. that's a good way to kill your battery. it only takes 5 minutes to drain a lot out of it if your system is more than 500 watts. you don't need a giant battery for your car. i have a 2002 honda civic and i'll tell you exactly what upgrades i did. for the battery, i got an optima yellow top which is the best if you have big bass. i upgraded the weak 60 ampere alternator to 100 amperes. finally, i upgraded all the battery cables to 2 gauge wires. my car is fine now and can handle the 1500 watts my amps put out. in your case since you're system is around 1000 watts, all you need is an optima yellow top and 2 gauge wire for the battery cables. your stock alternator could handle it if you upgrade your battery cables. upgrading those cables is probably the most important thing you need to do so get that done first.