Help!!! Sony xm-d1000p5 amp dead

Username: Plokkr123

Post Number: 1
Hi, i recently bought this amp from a friend along with sony xplod subs in a box(i am new to this audio thing). He hooked them up for me, and they worked fine for about 3 days. 1 day i started up the car and i noticed the subs were not working. I called my friend and he came over to look out my setup and he couldnt find anything wrong with them. no fuses were blown, (we think) or wires, wired incorrectly.We tried unhooking the amp and reconnecting all the wires to the amp but there is no green or red light, just a clear whie light. when we touch the battery wire and the deck wire to the connecter things on the amp we see sparks. So we know that it isnt because of the battery. Can someone plz help me out here? thank you

Anonymous

I can tell you whats wrong with it. It has the name SONY on it period. Never buy SONY products they are cheap and they do not last because sony is a sorry company that doesn't stand behind their products.

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 3298
he's right really.
sony is about the worst company in the car audio realm.
the amp probably failed.

Post Number: 2
wait, what do you mean the amp has failed? like do you mean the amp is blown?

Bill B
Unregistered guest
duh yeah!

Post Number: 3
i dont get it, there is no reason for my amp to die. Its not like i dropped it or spilled water on it. A product cant be so bad that it will just die spontaniously. I am pretty sure there is a way to fix it

Silver Member
Username: Pat_l

Tucson, AZ USA

Post Number: 173
Actually with sony there is a reason for it to die sponaneously. But there's hope, we can fix this AMP. Throw it in the trash and go and buy Rockford, JBL, or somebody good.

Anonymous

YEAH sony products have been known to just DIE.
Do like patrick said throw that crap in the garbage and buy something worth buying.

Silver Member
Username: Jonathan_f

GA USA

Post Number: 193