Need to know if i need a cap

Username: Straightballer

Carmel, Indiana Us

Post Number: 1
im new to subwoofers and car audio because i just got my license. i have a 2000 mazda 626 with the factory bose audio. and im getting 2 12" MTX road thunder subs. with a Legacy Red Series LA970 600wx2ch mosfet amp....and my question is what else do i need, and do i need a capacitor or what. if you could pass some knowledge on to me that would be great...my AIM is HotCarmelGuy1, please help me

Gold Member
Username: Th3pwn3r

Post Number:...

Post Number: 4480
Well,after you install your gear and upon peak times of music you see your lights dimming you should get an alternator before you get a cap of any size.It's also a good idea to beef up your wiring(Google Big 3 Upgrade).

Carmel, Indiana Us

Post Number: 2
like what size and how much will that cost....o and one more ?, do i need a new head unit

Gold Member

Post Number: 4593
I always recommend getting an alternator with the most maximum amperage for your vehicle as possible,look into Iraggi Alternators and Excessive Amperage(I'd buy Iraggi before Excessive.).It would be a good idea to upgrade your head unit but that's really your choice.You'll get more features and most likely,a cleaner signal.I don't know if the Head unit you're using right now has Subwoofer outputs so...

Carmel, Indiana Us

Post Number: 3
ok thanks that was a lot of help...ur a beast

Silver Member
Username: Rideredder

Cornell, IL USA

Post Number: 964
First off, if you haven't bought any of what you mentioned you were getting yet, don't. How much do you have to spend for your system? If you already bought it, that amp and those subs, it is highly unlikely that you will need to upgrade your alternator. It is always recommened to get an aftermarket HU though. If you still have a stock HU and don't have the money for a new one, just get a LOC and you can run the RCA's from the amp to it.

Carmel, Indiana Us

Post Number: 4