Question about wiring

Bronze Member
Username: Bigbobbyhoward

Post Number: 15
I have a 4 channel amp and one subwoofer. I bought 1 L.O.C. converter and have my amp bridged in channels 1 and 2. Is there anyway I can bridge channels 1 and 4 to get more power? Will I need another L.O.C.? Or is there anyway I can wire all 4 channels to the one subwoofer?

Username: Wylie_coyote

Post Number: 4
if you look near where the wires connect to the amp you should see like instrcutions that say "Bridge" if you don't then my best bet would be to just leave it alone as it may not be able to handle the power, but hey i'm not a professional by any means so.....

Silver Member
Username: Oleg

Santa Monica, CA USA

Post Number: 723
I've never heard of anyone bridging a 4 channel amp to a single output. Not sure it can be done.

Silver Member
Username: Killswitchjd

Post Number: 377
it can be. but you wont get the added power, it would be the same as if you bridged it to a two channel and just used one channel

Bronze Member

Post Number: 16
That sucks, I don't know what I was thinking when I got the 4 channel over a two. What if I bridged channels 1 and 2 together, bridged channels 3 and 4, and hooked the two bridged channels together to the sub, think that would work?

Silver Member

Santa Monica, CA USA

Post Number: 726
What is your subwoofer's voice coil configuration? You can potentiall bridge 1+2 for 1 coil and 3+4 to the other coil. To do this, your sub must be dual voice coil. Your amp must be stable at each coil's impedance (i.e.: 2ohm or 4ohm?) when bridged, and your box will need to have an extra set of terminals outside so you can hook up each coil separately. Just sounds like you need to use this 4 channel amp for other applications and just get your self a decent mono (1 channel) subwoofer amp.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 18