AMP wires

Username: Bryan333

Post Number: 2
can anyone link me to some good 500watt amp wires? My subs can hit 500watts rms, but the guy at circuit city only gave me 350 watt amp wires :/

Gold Member
Username: Southernrebel

Monroe, Louisiana DD 9515d~~]...

Post Number: 3893
http://knukonceptz.com/productDetail.cfm?prodID=eKo-K4

that amp kit will get the job done for you.

Post Number: 3
alright, im kinda new at this stuff though. The 350 watt amp wires will only peak my subs at 350 watts rms correct?

Post Number: 4
edit: can wires above 500watts still work at 500watts?

I talked to a guy from circuit city and he said I need 4 gauge wires. I check on their site and I found these, http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Tsunami-Amplifier-Power-Kit-AMP850BL/sem/rpsm/oid /71672/catOid/-13120/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

it says there 850 watts, but is that just the peak amount of watts? can they be used at 500watts?

Gold Member
Username: Van_man

Boston South, MA

Post Number: 1341
Its the Size and length of the wire that determines the current carrying capacity.
This chart shall help you.

http://www.cardiscountstereos.com/WireGuide.asp

Post Number: 5
Alright so they will work? the wires that I posted from circuit city will be ok for a 500watt RMS sub?

Gold Member

Post Number: 3895
yes...you should use a 4ga amp kit for 400-800wrms

what amp do you have?

that Tsunami amp kit will work...but why buy a $75 amp kit w/ no RCA's when you can get the one i suggested w/ RCA's for $26+ship???

Post Number: 6
I bought a decent package from circuit city. Its two 12" subs and the amp is from the same brand.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Magnum-Dual-12-Loaded-Enclosure-Magna-Bass-Amplif ier-Combo/sem/rpsm/oid/162819/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

its my first system so dont laugh if its nothing amazing :/

I have an appointment on sat to get them installed so I cant really buy anything offline :/

Gold Member

Post Number: 3898
ok...