Amp for Alpine type R subs?

Username: Twist

Post Number: 1
Im in the process of buying an all alpine sound system, recently baught two type R componant sets, and my next buy will be two 10" Type R subs. My question is what kind of amp should I run? Or, should I be running 2 amps, one for the componant sets and one for the subs. And if so, then what two amps do i go with? Thanks alot. Im new to alpine stuff.

Silver Member
Username: Johnfiac

Il USA

Post Number: 228
You would want 2 amps, u dont want to run components with subs...mess somthing up. How many components you got..... Front and rear(2 sets?) and the 2 10" type R's are going to be what 2ohm or 4ohm? SVC or DVC.. im not sure if they come in all those but i dont wanna search, give specfics about the subs and components...specs and you can get alot more help.

Silver Member
Username: Dkchillin

Vermont

Post Number: 136
Like John said, you'll definitely want to go with separate amps for your comps and your subs. And more specific info would be helpful but I'll assume you're running two sets of 6.5 Type R comps (since that's the most commonly used size). By "all alpine system" does that mean you're looking to go with Alpine amps as well?

Without knowing what brand of amp you want for sure, i'll just say that you'll probably want to push those speakers with between 60 and 100 watts RMS per, and those subs can each handle 500W RMS. With that in mind, you want to look for a 4 chanel amp that'll put out that kind of wattage RMS at 4 ohms for your speakers. If you wanted to stick with Alpine, something like this would probably work well for you.