AMP AND SUB LOAD PROBLEMS, YEA IMMA NOOB AT THIS

Username: Oaktowncrazyd

East Oakland, CA

Post Number: 4
first off im a noob at this, and im learning as i go, i have a RF 1000 amp and a jl 13w7, and i wired the sub in parallel which puts it at .75 ohms, and hooked it up to the amp and i turn the bass up, the amp goes into portection mode, so im now figuring out that this amp isnt for this speaker b/c i want to push to the max not just under power it. i keep seeing this 2 ohm load minimum, i thought it was rated for 1000w x 1 x 1ohm? i looked on the jl website and the closet thing to meeting the minimum "2 ohm load" is wiring the sub in series, and get a 3 ohm load, is that my best option? wat do u guys think?

Gold Member
Username: Fandim

Reno, Nevada United State...

Post Number: 1090
Bad amp, overall, for your subwoofer. The RF I'm guessing by the way you're describing it (since you dont list the model number) is probably a mono amp that puts out 1000 watts at 2 ohms. By running it at .75 ohms, you're drastically under the minimum ohm load for this amp. A .75 ohm load will shut a lot of amps down even that are 1 ohm stable.

Your best bet, would be to either ditch the amp, or get another one, and hope that it'll work with your gains turned down, into a 1.5 ohm load, and run an amp to each VC.

Gold Member
Username: Tjmutlow

Post Number: 2152
wire it to 3ohms and see if it still does it...

East Oakland, CA

Post Number: 5
oh im sorry it is a t10001bd mono amp
4 ohm load per channel 500watts x 1
2 ohm load per channel 750watts x 1
1 ohm load per channel 1000watts x 1

then the birth sheet says
669 rms watts per channel @ 4 ohms <1%>80 dBA (referance 1 watt into 4 ohms)

1044 total rms watts @ 2 ohms <1% THD+n all channels combined

and last 1452 total rms watts @ 1 ohm <1% THD

can sum1 tell me wat the heck <1% THD means?