How much power do i need?

Username: Aduncan_bu

Bonnyville, Alberta Canada

Post Number: 3
I want to install 2-1600watt amps each running a 2000watt sub in a 2004 pontiac grand prix gt,,,,will my stock altinator hold up if i upgrade my batteries and add a cap,,,,,or do i need to go with a ho altinator?,,,,if so how many amps will i need,,,,i've got the equipment now i need to power it,,,what do i need

Gold Member
Username: Chaunb3400

Huntsville, Alabama U.S.

Post Number: 6566
lol,,, u wont need any electrical system upgrades ur stuff is crazy over rated

1600, maybe 200rms

Post Number: 4
So your saying i need nothing?,,,i can just hook this equipmnt straight to my stock battery (with the proper fuses of course) and i won't have any problems with it draining on my electrical system or battery?,,,,I've never done installed sterio equipment before so if you could spell it out for me that would be great.

Gold Member
Username: Theelfkeeper

Stockbridge, GA USA

Post Number: 1831
what brand of amps and subs are you using?? there are a lot of brands out there that overrate their stuff and you will never see outputs even close to 1600 watts or whatever they are rated.

Post Number: 6
my subs are made by power acoustik and the amps are by pyramid,,,the amps are 2x800watt bridage,,,,i realize that both are over rated but how do i tell by how much,,,,i really just want the system to sound good with no side effects on the car

Post Number: 7
I was just reading up on my subs and the rms (could someone explain what 'rms' stands for and means) is recomended at 1000watts,,,,i haven't found the specs on the amps yet

Post Number: 8
I found a spec sheet on the amps and it says the the max current draw is 30A,,,,but i will be running two of these amps so do i double this #,,,so 60A,,,,and back to my first question now,,,will my stock electrical system run this alright?

Gold Member

Stockbridge, GA USA

Post Number: 1841