Newbie need to know about OHMS

Username: Djcool563

Post Number: 2
Hello guys i am new to this kinda of stuff but i wanted to know what Ohm means. I have seen 2 ohm and 4 ohm and differnt amounts of wattage the amp can give depending on which one. I was wondering what is an ohm?which is better? can i change the ohms? any help would be great thanks.
DJ

Silver Member
Username: N2audio

Lawrence, Ks USA

Post Number: 819
an ohm is just a measure of resistance, as a foot is a measure of length.

Matching subs to an amp can be confusing for a beginner - there are many different configurations of subs - some single voice coils, some dual. Most common are single 4 ohm coils, dual 4 and dual 2 are common as well.

It might be easier to let us know what subs/amps interest you and we can help you understand how they match up.

Post Number: 3
OK i know i will probably get bad posts because of this but i ordered this on ebay before finding this site and really knowing what i was doing.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem%26item%3D5881789625%26&sspagename= STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT%26

I plan on upgrading sometime later after i upgrade my entire system in my car. Thanks guys
DJ

Silver Member
Username: Juliob

Santo DomingoDominican Re...

Post Number: 419
if you bought that, you got ripped!

Post Number: 4
Im sure i did but i think it will work for a while can anyone tell me what i wanted to know about ohms?

Bronze Member
Username: Mystre

Pemberville, Ohio USA

Post Number: 87
Check Opti's post, he know what he talking about. And I'm not knocking on you for buying that but what the heck is Mitzu Audio? DJ, go to search, search by keyword and type in "list" click on the first result. This list will help. As far as ohms go check other threads.

Post Number: 5
Ok i think i got what Ohm by reading some other threads. I know it is prolly a cheap product but like i said i dont really know much and it looked like a good deal at the time.

Bronze Member
Username: Mystre