4 ohms, 2 ohms

soundnoob
Unregistered guest
Hi,
I'm kinda new to amplifiers and stuff, I had my system installed by a technician but I dont wanna pay again. I just have some questions. What difference would it make if I have a 4 ohm or a 2 ohm on the subs. Say if I have a 2 channel amp going to one sub with 2 ohms...would it cut the power in half if I use 4 ohms??? and what does bridging mean? a chart of what could happen woulld help me out a lot. thanks!

Uneek007
Unregistered guest
I wanna know too.

Bob365
Unregistered guest
Here's some calculators to help.
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp
Bridging is taking two channels and making one.(+ from one channel and - from the other)
Most likely you'd cut the power in half amd would have to unbridge it and only use one channel since it's a two channel amp. A single channel amp would most likely just cut the power in half. This is assuming your amp is stable at the higher ohm load. Most should be stable at 4 ohms.
Find the make and model of your amp and look up the information on the web.
Example 2 channel amp
200 W x 2 @ 4 Ohms RMS
400 W x 2 @ 2 Ohms RMS
800 W x 1 @ 4 Ohms RMS BRIDGED
Some amps are not stable at all of them, but 1, 2, and 4 ohms are the most common.
Now look up your sub. Find out if it is SVC(single voice coil - 1 pair of connections) or DVC(dual voice coil- 2 pairs) and what the ohm rating is.
If your sub is SVC, it's probably 4 ohm.
If you have a DVC and a 2 channel amp that's bridged, the sub probably a 2 ohm voice coil. Wired in series that's 2+2=4.

Bob 365
Unregistered guest
From your statements, I would guess that you have a 2 ohm DVC sub(each voice coil is 2 ohms) wired in series to a bridged amp. The amp sees a 4 ohm load. If you replace the sub with a 4 ohm SVC, you will keep all of your power.