What type of Amp do I need

Unregistered guest
I'm pretty new at this type of stuff. I've learned alot through this website and a friend I know just sold me his two subs. You can see them here http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem%26item%3D5857034523%26&sspagename= STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT%26
So i was wondering what type of amp do i need to power these. I need my stuff to be thumpin' because i'm tired of hearin' all of my homeboi's systems and i'm still rollin' in a stock radio.

They are 2 AUDIOBAHN ALUM12Q subs

120 oz. Double Stacked Strontium Magnets
Power Handling: 1000 watts R.M.S. 2000 watts Peak
Frequency Response: 18Hz 500Hz
Efficiency: 96.4dB
PHAT 1.75" EPDM Rubber Surround
Spun Aluminum Cone
3" 4-Layer ASV Voice Coil
Dual 6 Ohm
3 Ohm or 12 Ohm Operation
Mounting Dimensions: Depth; 5 5/8" Hole; 11 1/8" Diameter; 12 3/4"
Multi-connect Lug Lock Terminals

Help????????

Silver Member
Username: B101

Queen City, NC USA

Post Number: 637
9/6=1.5 ohm load
get a 2 JL 1000/1 it gives full power @ 1.5 ohms

u need a amp that is 1ohm stable atleast.
but you want optimized power at 1.5ohms.

Gold Member
Username: Chaunb3400

Huntsville, Alabama U.S.

Post Number: 4551
^that would work perfect, but is gonna cost alot, whats ur budget

SlckJust
Unregistered guest
I just checked some on Ebay and those amps are pretty expensive. Like $500. What if i got a 2 channel amp and bridge them

SlckJust
Unregistered guest
None of my friends know any of the technical things about amps. I'm only 17 and a senior in Highschool so anything from my stock radio will be a step up. I would say that my budget would be around $170 or so. But I got money coming in so i can afford more

Gold Member

Huntsville, Alabama U.S.

Post Number: 4554
wow, its gonna be hard to power those on that budget.

Also quick guide, and why not register

http://pub14.ezboard.com/fcaraudiotalkfrm27.showMessage?topicID=27.topic

Gold Member
Username: Tjmutlow

Post Number: 1144