Need help with amp wiring in a 2004 dodge neon.

Username: Wolfman1966

WEST MONROE , LOUISIANA USA

Post Number: 1
Ok, I've got everything run except for the power cable for my amp...what is the best route to use for running the power cable from the battery to the trunk in a 2004 Dodge Neon. I can't seem to find anywhere to run it through the firewall.. so maybe someone out there can please help. Also, what size wire should I use to hook the subs up to my amp...the amp is an alphasonik (I know, not so good, but I couldn't pass up the deal) 350 watt amp (but hooked up 2channel at 4ohms it only puts out 100 watts per channel)...right now I have 16 gauge wire, is that big enough? Oh and the subs are 2-10 inch alphasonik q-reference subs (they came already mounted in a box, with the amp)...i think they are 40hms. Please, any help would be appreciated as I am fairly new to installation. OH, and please send replies to my e-mail if possible bagh@rocketmail.com

Silver Member
Username: N2audio

Lawrence, Ks USA

Post Number: 238
can't really help you on specifics of installing in a neon.
Concerning power wire though, 10ga would get it done for 100x2, but as common as cheap 8 ga kits are you really should use 8.

Post Number: 2
Let me explain, I don't need to know the size for power wire, that came in the amp kit. I need to know the size I should use for the wire from the amp to the subs. oh and if anyone needs to see what it is I got, if found the same thing here www.sonicelectronix.com/item_3010.html

Gold Member
Username: Chaunb3400

Huntsville, Alabama U.S.

Post Number: 4065
16 or 14 gauge would be fine, anything lower than that would be overkill for ur system. Also have u thought about upgrading ur hu??, it will make ur system sound much better

Post Number: 3