Whine and a hum in my speakers and subs

Username: Basshead2006

Post Number: 2
as i posted i am having serious problems, I have a lot of experience with car audio installation because I used to do it for circuit city. But just recently i built a new box and got all new equiptment and when installed i got a whine and hum from the subs and speakers. I have all top notch equiptment. Extra solid ground, live wires are on the oppposite side of the car away form RCAs and speaker wire. 2 grounds off the battery. And after I installed all of the new stuff i ripped it all out along with the seats and carpets and radio and rewired the radio. and still. then i unplugged the alternator and the whine was gone but the hum remained. what is it i am pleading for an intelligent and correct answer to my problem. Help Help Help

Silver Member
Username: Kojak28

Augusta, GA USA

Post Number: 176
Do you have an eq or line driver?

Silver Member
Username: Goon

Post Number: 355
I am having the exact same problem as Dale Smith. I would like to find a new ground location. Right now my amps ae grounded to bolts that go into the floor on my rodeo. I am not sure if this is sufficient enough, but i dont know where else to ground them. also, could a head unit cause this whine and hum? maybe the HU is going bad or something? can someone please shed some light on this subject...thanks.

Silver Member
Username: Safa19

Post Number: 276