Do i need a capacitor?

Username: Philster

Post Number: 1
im pretty sure i do but im new to it.
i have a PYLE PLAD413 2000 Watt 4 Channel High Power MOSFET Amplifier, and will be running it at 4x200W RMS at 4 Ohms on 4 SONY XPLOD XS-V6841H 6x8(1000 watt total), it will be put in a 06 ford f150 with the 5.4 triton v8
if i need a capacitor, what farad would work?

Bronze Member
Username: Cadillacdb

Houston , TX

Post Number: 35
Ive never been Foolish Enough to Waste my money on Pyle so im not familiar with Pyle at all but i dont know about those specs because Pyle is straight up Horrible Quality from what ive heard but im sure a 1.0 farad cap would do the job if u think u need a Cap

Silver Member
Username: Nutty91rs

Bloomington, Indiana USA

Post Number: 108
you do NOT need a capacitor it will only make things worse. The only good thing you can do with a capacitor is to wire it to your headlights so they will have power reserve and won't blink, and they'll still probably dim because your alternator can't keep up. If your lights don't dim, don't do anything, if you have problems with everything dimming on hard bass notes, get a new high output alternator.

Silver Member
Username: Tdisanto

Post Number: 483
A capacitor will smooth out the voltage ripple and thats about all.

Silver Member
Username: Bestmankind

Los Angeles, CA USA

Post Number: 215
yeah i'd do what brian is saying. hook everything up first and see.

Gold Member
Username: Chaunb3400

Huntsville, Alabama U.S.

Post Number: 1047
sell all ur stuff, and start over, first thing get a HO alternator, Pyle's not worth the headache

WC
Unregistered guest
lol i wouldnt buy a capacitor i would worry about getting a fire extinguisher cause that pyle of crap is gonna burn in two months or less.

Silver Member
Username: Bestmankind

Los Angeles, CA USA

Post Number: 227