New to car audio, help!

Username: Lakers6902

San bernardino, CA U.S.A.

Post Number: 1
hey everyone im 16, just got my licence on april 14 (my bday :D) and i just got my car and put a stereo in it with the money ive been saving my whole life, i got a pioneer cd player with xm on it (DEH-P2600) and a 4 channel kenwood amp, with a 12' jbl sub. im going to buy another 12' sub and i was going to buy one the sony xplod 2 channel 1000 watt amps, and i was thinking of doing the crossover ive read about but was wondering wat the preamp plugs for on my amp? can i hook a amp through that and get more power than the 1000 watts? just wondering, prolly a stupid question but im new to car audio

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 2030
don't bother with the sony
its crap

Post Number: 2
wat u recommend as a 2 channel amp to use for my sub?

Rhino20
Unregistered guest
First of all Mikey, we've gotta talk...
When I was going through your first post, I was thinking "this kid's got good taste..." Yeah... Then... I saw you were going for the sony... Sony's good for 2 things... TV's and DISTORTION! Yeah, the amp will push your subs, but they'll sound like serious dung! You want a good amp, go with a JBL PX600.2, as it's not the PEAK that you're wanting your subs to be pushed at, it's the RMS... The JBL will hit the subs pretty damn hard, and they won't give of the harmonic distortion that the xplode would.

Rhino20
Unregistered guest
Besides, putting the JBL amp and sub together is always a nice touch... ;)

Gold Member

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 2068
are the subs you're getting single coil or dual coil, and are they 4 ohms (per coil)?

Post Number: 3