Installing 2 amps

Username: Accordv6

Post Number: 4
Hi,

I'm new to this. Do i need 2 remote wires from the headunit to both amps? Do i need to purchase a ground distribution block? How many feet of wires for power and ground do you recommend for the second amp? Also i'm installing a sub with one of the amps. I'm bridging a 2ch to power the sub. IS there a special adapter to plug in the sub?

Henry

Silver Member
Username: Robert_d

MIA, FL USA

Post Number: 170
its pretty simple
all you need is 1 remote wire going from your head unit to your trunk, when the wire gets close to your 2 amps just splice it into 2 and connect them to the amps.
you dont need a distribution block although its cleaner and easier, you get a larger power wire from your battery to you trunk again when it gets close to the amps just put the distribution block on and from that choose the appropriate wire size to your amps.
for ground you dont make the wire longer than a couple of feet, and just use the right size wires for each amp dont use a distribution block.
if your bridging an amp u dont need any special peice just the right size wire from the amp to the subwoofer.
also if your amplifier has a rca output you could get a small rca cable and plug it in from the main amps output to the secondary amps input rca ports. just saves space paneling but if your head unit has a subwoofer rca outputs i would use that for the amp that powers the subwoofer, just a cleaner signal for your subs

Post Number: 6
As for a distribution block is one 4awg input and two 4awg output enough for the 2 amps? You think 3ft of power and ground enough for the secondary amp? Now i do understand how this works. Thanks...

Henry

Silver Member

MIA, FL USA

Post Number: 171
each amp should have its own ground wire 3 feet or less
the main power wire should be 2awg if your going to be using 4awg for your 2 amps
like this if your not sure
===2awg==(block)<====4awg===amp
xxxxxxxxxxxxxx <====4awg===amp

Post Number: 7